top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

Dreaming Of Sunshine

For some reason, listening to Ella Fitzgerald makes everything feel better. Then if you also have a cup of hot chocolate and are lying in your bed watching Woody Allen's Midnight in Paris, you are set. Although, I must confess that even though winter is my favourite season because of the warmth indoors, I can't help feel a little gloomy when the sky is full of grey clouds and my socks are wet from the scattered puddles on the foot path, that even with my careful dodging skills, I somehow step into them. Possibly my childlike footsteps taking place? Only the gumboots missing however.

Winter makes me appreciate the hint of blue sky that creeps through the clouds, the sun that shines through at sunset and the feeling of stepping home. It also makes me appreciate the hot shower and the warm blankets, however it also makes me neglect wanting to leave. Growing up in the country side with the fireplace, falling asleep with the cats, dressing up in a blanket to keep warm, hot chocolate and sitting by the fire with the family when the electricity goes out from a storm, are just some of the fonder, sweeter memories of winter that I dream of. However, city life in a cafe, the soothing tapping sound of the rain hitting your umbrella or sleeping in your tiny apartment on a winters day is something too..

bottom of page